How I Got My Child To Like Salad

We had a small victory yesterday. I admit, I get ridiculously joyful over seeing my children enjoy vegetables and I take it on as a welcomed challenge. Salad, however, has had me stumped. And we like salads. It’s an easy, healthy, common side dish. So when I came across this Beet Salad on a Stick recipe from nobiggie.net you better believe I thought it was brilliant! Let me remind you, I’m a mother of boys…and boys like sticks. So if I stack a bite-able stick with things they enjoy (and of course sandwich a leaf in there) how could I go wrong?

But since they don’t like beets (…yet) I just took the idea of a salad on a stick and ran with it.

IMG_2504[1]

Salad Bites

You know its a success when your child requests to have it the next night, too Here’s what we poked on a toothpick, but would work with any bite of salad.

Salad Bites:
Apple
Avocado
2-3 Spinach leaves
Feta cheese
Candied pecans

The real victory was the fact that my son tried a salad dressing…and liked it!! That’s big. But come on, these bites are so dip-able! It was just a quick yogurt dressing I threw together:

Strawberry Yogurt Vinaigrette:
1 Tbs. Plain yogurt
1 Tbs. Strawberry jam
2 Tbs. Olive oil
2 tsp. Apple cider vinegar

You bet I’ll be making salad bites of all sorts more often!

Leave a Reply

